Ageism in Hollywood

As I learn more and more about the trek to LA, one thing that I keep reading over and over is this: if you are over the age of 25, you will have a progressively hard time trying to break through the barriers.

Say what!?

I wasn’t given the innate ability to act when I was a fetus.   As a kid, I loved to perform, but I also enjoyed soccer, cheerleading, and swim team.  I had so many things going on – I loved it!  I didn’t decide that this was the life that I wanted to pursue until I got to college (where I studied acting.)  And even then, I wasn’t ready immediately afterwards.

But I’m ready now.   Why should I be penalized because I’m not 18?   Not to mention the whole, “keep yourself insanely skinny” part and it’s enough to cause a migraine.

I’m in this fight for the long run but I’m sure as hell not going to let any CD, Agent or Producer tell me that I can’t do something! Especially because I’m not the age they want me to be! And for the record, my age is incognito as well – screw the biz that is ageist! I’m going to do everything that I can to get myself ahead regardless – and defy the odds in the process!

Leave a Reply

